Road Safety News

Nominations open as Prince Michael Awards celebrate 30 years

Wednesday 10th May 2017

Nominations are being sought for this year’s Prince Michael International Road Safety Awards (PMIRSA), with 2017 marking 30 years since the scheme was launched.

Established by HRH Prince Michael of Kent in 1987, each year the ‘most outstanding’ international road safety initiatives receive public recognition through the scheme.

The awards are presented in five main categories based on the five pillars of the Global Plan for a Decade of Action: road safety management, safer roads, safer vehicles, safer road users and post-crash response.

The winners are invited to the awards’ luncheon held at The Savoy in London - which this year takes place on 12 December - where Prince Michael announces his Premier Award winner.

In 2016, the Global New Car Assessment Programme (Global NCAP) picked up the top accolade for the way the scheme has driven forward a ‘huge advance’ in the safety standards of new vehicles (pictured).

Nominations for 2017 are invited from road safety teams, government departments, private sector organisations/businesses, and should be submitted by 31 July.

Entries should comprise a maximum of 1,500 words, with judging based on the following criteria: well researched, innovation, achievement, evaluation, commitment, replicability and sustainability.

More information - including a set of nomination guidelines and details of previous winners - can be found on the Prince Michael Awards website.

Related stories

Global NCAP picks up Prince’s Premier Award
14 December 2016

Road Safety GB receives Prince Michael Award
16 November 2016





Comment on this story
Report a reader comment

What's your view - comment on this story:

I confirm that I have read and accept the moderation policy and house rules relating to comments posted on this website.
Your comment:
Your name and location:
Your email:

There are currently no comments about this news item.