Road Safety News

Deadline looms for Lynda Chalker Award nominations

Wednesday 7th September 2016

Road Safety GB has issued a final call for nominations for the 2016 Lynda Chalker Award, with the nomination process closing on Friday 23 September.

The Lynda Chalker Award is Road Safety GB’s annual opportunity to recognise individuals or organisations who have made an outstanding contribution to road safety. The award or awards are presented at the National Road Safety Conference which this year is being held in Bristol on 15-16 November.

Lynda Chalker (now the Baroness Chalker of Wallasey), who was transport minister in the mid-1980s, presented LARSOA (now Road Safety GB) with a carriage clock to be used for the Award when she moved to a new post in overseas development.

Two Lynda Chalker Awards were presented at the 2015 National Conference - the first time the accolade has been awarded since 2012.

Ian Edwards (left in pic) was recognised for his varied work within road safety, including the instrumental role he played in creating the National Standard for road safety practitioners and developing training courses in partnership with the Road Safety GB Academy.

Graham Compton, who has been working in road safety since 1963, received the award for the key role he has played in encouraging and facilitating partnership working.

Click here to download the nomination form or for more information contact Judith Billingham, Road Safety GB secretary.


Comment on this story
Report a reader comment

What's your view - comment on this story:

I confirm that I have read and accept the moderation policy and house rules relating to comments posted on this website.
Your comment:
Your name and location:
Your email:

There are currently no comments about this news item.