Road Safety News

Nominations invited for 2015 Lynda Chalker Award

Thursday 25th June 2015

Road Safety GB is inviting nominations for the 2015 Lynda Chalker Award which recognises individuals or organisations that have contributed significantly to road safety in the UK.

The award (or awards) will be presented at the 2015 National Road Safety Conference in Nottingham (18-19 November).

Lynda Chalker (now the Baroness Chalker of Wallasey), who was transport minister in the mid-1980s, presented LARSOA (now Road Safety GB) with a carriage clock to be used for the Award when she moved to a new post in overseas development.

The last time the Lynda Chalker Awards were presented was at the 2012 National Conference in London, when there were three recipients.

Mike McAdam received the award in recognition of his unique approach in empowering young people to not drink and drive, through his initiative 'Don't Be That Someone'.

Dawn Boyfield MBE received the award for the part she played in developing the Children's Traffic Club and other road safety resources, and her contribution to various advisory panels.

The third award went to Brian Hogarth, Road Safety GB administrator (now retired), in recognition of his exceptional commitment and contribution to road safety at local, regional and national level, in a career which spanned more than 50 years.

For more information, or for nomination papers, contact Judith Billingham, Road Safety GB secretary, on 01225 701970.

The closing date for nominations is 1 September.


Comment on this story
Report a reader comment

What's your view - comment on this story:

I confirm that I have read and accept the moderation policy and house rules relating to comments posted on this website.
Your comment:
Your name and location:
Your email:

There are currently no comments about this news item.